License to Drive
What you need to know about getting your driver's license!!
Requirements for Georgia Teen Drivers
The following information is being provided to help clarify the new law affecting any Georgia student who will be 16-years-old in 2007 and who chooses to apply for a Class D Driver's License.
� What is "Joshua's Law"?
Senate Bill 226 also known as "Joshua's Law" was passed during the 2005 General Assembly. Beginning January 1, 2007, all 16-year-olds applying for a Class D driver's license must complete an approved driver education course AND complete a total of 40 hours of supervised driving, 6 hours of which must be at night, with a parent or guardian's sworn verification that these driving requirements have been met.
Any Georgia student who has not completed an approved driver education course must wait until age 17 to be eligible for a Class D driver's license. He or she must still complete a total of at least 40 hours of supervised driving, including at least 6 hours at night. The same verification in writing by a parent or guardian is required. In lieu of a professional driver ed course;
A student may take a state licensed 30 hour driver's education course on-line.
Books for this course will be available at DDS offices around the state or the DDS will mail one.
With the passage of SB 226 (Joshua's Law) by the 2005 Georgia General Assembly, the Georgia Driver Education Commission was created. The Commission has been meeting on a regular basis to review various methods of driver training for a comprehensive accessible, affordable and effective method of driver education available for students throughout the state. Some of the potential methods of driver education the Commission has reviewed in addition to the current 30 hours of classroom and 6 hours of behind the wheel training offered at private and public schools are public/private partnerships such as:
� Public/Private school (30 hours) classroom (virtual or instructor) and (6 hours) private behind the wheel training (students will also need an additional 40 hours of supervised driving)
� Public/Private school (30 hours) classroom (virtual or instructor) and parent taught behind the wheel (The parent taught is a 40 hour comprehensive driving course)
� Virtual (30 hours) classroom and (6 hours) private behind the wheel training (students will also need an additional 40 hours of supervised driving)
� Virtual (30 hours) classroom and (40 hour) parent taught behind the wheel (The parent taught is a 40 hour comprehensive driving course)
� ALL STUDENTS MUST HAVE 6 HOURS OF SUPERVISED DRIVING AT NIGHT.
The traditional driver training courses approved by the Department of Driver Services (DDS) are currently offered by various high schools and private driving schools. DDS is currently reviewing virtual on line programs. More information will be available on the DDS website after October 15, 2006.
Students do not need a learner's permit for the classroom course or the virtual program; however, they will need to hold a learner's permit for 1 year and 1 day prior to being issued a Class D license. A learner�s permit is required for the behind-the-wheel driving. Students can complete their supervised driving hours concurrent to taking a driver's education class provided that they have a learner's permit.
New Driving Course Offered
GHEA is now offering an online Driver’s Education Course available to anyone in the state of Georgia. For only $55 you can get your license at 16 with this online course which is fully certified by the Georgia Department of Driver Services. Click here to find out more and sign up.
For further information visit the DDS website at www.dds.ga.gov.
- Georgia State Laws
- Getting Started
- Local Classes/Tutors
- New Homeschoolers
- Curriculum Suggestions
- Curriculum Providers
- Field Trips
Sr Hi & College
- Technical Colleges
- HS Friendly Colleges
- Hope Scholarship
- Hope Grant
- Correspondence Schools
- Joint Enrollment